If God Doesn’t Destroy…

I’m sure you’ve heard the saying, “If God doesn’t destroy (your least favorite city) He’ll have to apologize to Sodom and Gomorrah!” I’m not sure if this is actually a prudent thing to say, or even think.

Here is the story on why God was going to destroy Sodom and Gomorrah:

And the Lord said: The cry of Sodom and Gomorrha is multiplied, and their sin is become exceedingly grievous.

I will go down and see whether they have done according to the cry that is come to me: or whether it be not so, that I may know. And they turned themselves from thence, and went their way to Sodom: but Abraham as yet stood before the Lord. And drawing nigh he said: Wilt thou destroy the just with the wicked? If there be fifty just men in the city, shall they perish withal? and wilt thou not spare that place for the sake of the fifty just, if they be therein? Far be it from thee to do this thing, and to slay the just with the wicked, and for the just to be in like case as the wicked, this is not beseeming thee: thou who judgest all the earth, wilt not make this judgment.

And the Lord said to him: If I find in Sodom fifty just within the city, I will spare the whole place for their sake. And Abraham answered, and said: Seeing I have once begun, I will speak to my Lord, whereas I am dust and ashes. What if there be five less than fifty just persons? wilt thou for five and forty destroy the whole city? And he said: I will not destroy it, if I find five and forty. And again he said to him: But if forty be found there, what wilt thou do? He said: I will not destroy it for the sake of forty. Lord, saith he, be not angry, I beseech thee, if I speak: What if thirty shall be found there? He answered: I will not do it, if I find thirty there.

Seeing, saith he, I have once begun, I will speak to my Lord. What if twenty be found there? He said: I will not destroy it for the sake of twenty. I beseech thee, saith he, be not angry, Lord, if I speak yet once more: What if ten should be found there? And he said: I will not destroy it for the sake of ten. And the Lord departed, after he had left speaking to Abraham: and Abraham returned to his place.
Genesis 18:20-33

Notice that Father Abraham pleads with the Lord not to destroy the cities. This almost sounds like a story line in a joke, “what if 50… what if 30… etc…” Do we plead with the Lord not to destroy San Francisco, or do we secretly relish the thought of another “Big One” in that city especially when it hosts some of the most Anti-Christian displays in the world? What about New York, Las Vegas, Hollywood, New Orleans or my favorite, Chicago? 😉

Also re-read the story, the Lord says He will not destroy the cities if he can find 50, 45, 30, 20, or 10 righteous people therein. He only can find Lot and his little family, these are the only righteous people in Sodom-Gomorrah. And, as we read later, they really weren’t that great after all either.

Do you really want to know why these cities are not being destroyed?

Franciscan Friars of the Renewal in New York

Orthodox St. John of Shanghai and San Francisco

The Little Sisters of the Poor who operate in San Francisco

Need I go on, or do you get the point? We must remember that there are more than 50 righteous people in almost every city in this country. We should pray that these people produce fruit 30, 60, 100 fold and grow like a mustard seed.

Then maybe your/my favorite city will not be the new embodiment of the wicked cities of old like Sodom, Gomorrah, Tyre, and Sidon but “a city set on a hill.” A model for all others to follow. So yes, even this “downstater” thinks that there are at least 50 righteous people in Chicago😉 . And I pray that they transform the whole of Chicagoland.

Leave a Reply

